Programme 2018

Programme 20182018-08-26T22:30:49+00:00

08:00 pm – SLEEP NO MORE (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

It’s 1986 and a group of graduate students are close to discovering a cure for sleep using an experimental new drug, but something goes terribly wrong with a test subject. After their department closes, the team proceeds in secret – only this time, they experiment on themselves and find that their renunciation of sleep also awakens something completely different …

91 min, OV English without subtitles

SUBJECT TO ALTERATIONS

03:00 pm – CARGO (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

A Bahamian fisherman (played by Warren Brown) hopes to pay his gambling debts by smuggling refugees to Florida.

112 min, OV English & partly Haitian with English subtitles

05:30 pm – PASSAGE TO MARS (DOCUMENTARY)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

Narrated by Zachary Quinto, Passage to Mars documents the Northwest Passage Drive Expedition — a NASA expedition to the Arctic led by planetary scientist Pascal Lee. The goal is to simulate a human expedition to Mars, testing out the latest NASA equipment in terrain that mirrors the cold and harsh desolation of the red planet. But after setting out to cross the infamous Northwest Passage, the crew encounters a series of dangerous setbacks that quickly turn their expedition into an odyssey of survival.

OV English without subtitles

94 min

07:30 pm – CHARISMATA (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

A rookie female detective, struggling to find acceptance in a police department defined by a culture of bullying and intolerance, watches as things go from bad to worse as her chief suspect in a series of brutal ritualistic murders takes a personal interest in her.

100 min

10:00 pm – THE COP AND THE GIRL (PETER KEGLEVIC)

 CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

A 17 year old girl gets into trouble with her clique. When a policeman tries to help her, she takes his service weapon and car key and wants to disappear across the border. He has to find her and try to settle the matter on her own. Through his methods, however, he gets more and more in the gray area between law and law. Finally, both become hunted; where they notice that they have fallen in love. It follows an escape without plan and goal.

89 min, OV German without subtitles

SUBJECT TO ALTERATIONS

01:00 pm – Panel Talk with Director Ruggero Deodato

CinemaxX Wolfsburg

Director Ruggero Deodato speaks to our audience and gives fascinating insights into both his career and his works.

Audience questions are of course expressly desired!

02:00 pm – Panel Talk with Director Bruce Beresford

CinemaxX Wolfsburg

Director Bruce Beresford gives exciting insights into his extensive career, his films and experiences behind the camera. You can look forward to many interesting details and stories.

Audience questions are of course expressly desired!

05:30 pm – An evening with Bruce Beresford

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, (Doors open: 5:00 pm)

The traditional “Come Together Party” is one of the most popular events of the festival week and this year dedicated to our guest star, film director Bruce Beresford. The acclaimed filmmaker will receive this years Lifetime Achievement Award. The evening will commence with the Red Carpet at 5.30 pm and after the feature film, we’d like to celebrate with you and all our guests. Experience relaxed interactions with the stars while sipping delicious cocktails in the CinemaxX Wolfsburg.

08:00 pm – DOUBLE JEOPARDY (BRUCE BERESFORD)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

Libby is indicted and convicted of murdering her husband Nick, despite her firm claims of innocence. She places her son Matty into the care of her friend Angie. During a phone conversation with her, Libby hears her son calling for his father in the background. Could Nick still be alive? After several years in a women’s penetentiary, Libby is released on parole and, together with parole officer Travis, sets out to find her son and the truth.

105 min

SUBJECT TO ALTERATIONS

09:00 am – FALSELY ACCUSED (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

Young Shelly is accused of murdering her brother. In their small hometown, everyone is convinced of her guilt and none of her steps remain unobserved. She can trust only two people: her mother and the mysterious Roy. To prove her innocence, she embarks on a dangerous journey …

94 min

from 10:00 am – JAMES BOND SYMPOSIUM

IT Campus Westbahnhof, Braunschweig

A day of experience for Bond fans: from 10:00 am to 3:30 pm you can expect an exciting program on the subject of 007 at the IT Campus Westbahnhof in Brunswick. In addition to an exclusive film about the opening of the 007 Elements cinema installation in Sölden, there will be an interesting lecture by Bond expert Danny Morgenstern about “Women in Bond films & Goofs”. The highlight will be the big panel talk with guest star Corinne Cléry, who will tell us in detail about her career and the filming of ‘MOONRAKER’. Of course, Corinne will be available for photos and autographs.

10:00 am – BLACK ROBE (BRUCE BERESFORD)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

In order to proselytize the Native American tribes in the wilds of New France, the French Jesuits in the mid-17th century sent ever new brothers in faith to the lands of the Hurons, Iroquois and Algonquians. For young Father Laforgue, the journey is a challenge. But the hardships that await him, the incomprehensible behavior of the Indians, the loneliness of nature and the cruelty of the fighting are an almost inhumane burden. On the way to a remote mission station, he and an Indian group ambush the enemy Iroquois.

100 min

11:00 am – ACQUA E ZUCCHERO (DOCUMENTARY)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

Carlo di Palma was not only one of Italy’s most influential cinematographers, but also influenced countless filmmakers around the world through his work on more than a hundred films ranging from neorealism to classical Italian comedy, up to his close and long-standing collaboration with Woody Allen.

The films and names he associates with are impressive: Antonioni (“Red Desert”, “Blow Up”), Bertolucci (“Tragedy of a Ridiculous Man”), Monicelli (“Sex Quartet”, “The Girl with the Pistol”), Scola, Germi (“Divorce Italian Style”). He made 10 films with Woody Allen, including masterpieces such as “Radio Days”, “Shadows and Fog”, “Husbands and Wives” and “Deconstructing Harry”. “Acqua e Zucchero” is a kaleidoscope of archive material and new interviews with numerous companions and admirers.

WORLD DISTRIBUTIONS: ADRIANA CHIESA ENTERPRISES srl
Via Siacci 38
00197 Rome – ITALY
Tel: + 39-068086052 – Fax: + 39-0680687855 – Email: info@adrianachiesaenterprises.com

90 min

12:30 pm – FALLING ROCKS (PETER KEGLEVIC)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

Six friends find a corpse during a desert trip. The dead man carries a box with rough diamonds, which the group unceremoniously picks up. As they continue on their journey, each of them considers, what he or she could do with the fortune. Soon, the first of them dies under mysterious circumstances and paranoia spreads: Are they chased or is a murderer in their midst who does not want to share?

91 min, OV German without subtitles

01:00 pm – FUCKING BERLIN (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

Sonia comes to Berlin as a 20 year old to study mathematics. She builds a new circle of friends and falls head over heels in love with dear but irresponsible Pole Ladja. For lack of money, but also out of curiosity, Sonia decides to go into prostitution and leads a dangerous double life from then on – as a student and part-time whore.

94 min, German without subtitles

03:00 pm – SCHATTENWALD (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 5

After a burnout, Julika Stetten drives to an old house in the countryside. Here, in the alleged peace and seclusion, she must quickly regain her strength, because as a songwriter, she has an important deadline, to which she must deliver. But the house has a dark secret: In her dreams, Julika receives a visit from Katharina, who lost her life here many years ago. Only when Julika faces the traumatic memories of the death of her own mother, she can solve the mystery of Katharina’s death.

88 min, German without subtitles

05:30 pm – James Bond Evening

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 3

The big JAMES BOND EVENING starts at 5:30 pm this year with the world premiere of our in-house documentary, ‘FOR OUR EYES ONLY: JOHN GLEN ‘. At 8:00 pm, Roger Moore will spectacularly save the world in ‘MOONRAKER’. Our guest star Corinne Cléry will give an introduction to the film and also receive the Cineways James Bond Award. Afterwards we would like to party with you in style – of course shaken, not stirred!

Evening attire is welcomed, but not compulsory

11:00 pm – Deodato Midnight Double-Feature with lecture by Prof. Dr. Marcus Stiglegger

Delphin Palast Wolfsburg

Ruggero Deodato is regarded as the master of cannibal films and inspired numerous directors such as Quentin Tarantino, Oliver Stone or Eli Roth with his controversial works. With the movie ‘MONDO CANNIBALE 2’ recently taken off the index, we have the opportunity to dedicate a double feature to director Deodato at the Delphin-Palast cinema in Wolfsburg. At this occasion, renowned film scholar Prof. Dr. Marcus Stiglegger will honor the work of the Italian director with a lecture entitled “I wonder who the real cannibals are? – Ruggero Deodatos cinema of the human chasms”. The second film to be screened will be ‘THE HOUSE ON THE EDGE OF THE PARK’.

SUBJECT TO ALTERATIONS

09:00 am – TAG DER ABRECHNUNG (PETER KEGLEVIC)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

The bus driver Erwin Mikolajczyk leads a solitary life. The gun collector, who is himself a member of a sports shooting club, is considered an outsider. His fetish is the collection of rubber boots. After regularly beating his girlfriend Lena, she reports him and Erwin is convicted of assault and fined 7,200 DM. He objects to this punitive order. After being rejected, he shoots several people present in the courthouse, including two lawyers and the judge, and then detonates a bomb that blows himself up and devastates the building.

93 min

09:00 am – ONE SHOT LEFT (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 3

Jessica and her companions Markus and Mike visit an abandoned factory. But the lost place turns out not to be that lost. Natalia Orlow and her paramilitary army try to hide a bigger secret. And they will keep anybody from leaving the facility alive. The course of events turns out to follow one evil plan of one desperate person.

90 min

11:00 am – OPEN FORUM

CinemaxX Wolfsburg

At the open forum panel discussion, our star guests have the floor. Look forward to exciting insights into the international film business.

11:30 am – TENDER MERCIES (BRUCE BERESFORD)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

In a motel room in Waxahachie, Texas, the life of alcoholic-turned-former country-and-western singer Mac Sledge finds its shameful nadir. With the help of a widow and her son, whom he has befriended, the noticeably aged Mac Sledge slowly finds back to himself. They inspire him to resume work. He reconciles with the lost daughter and brings his life to fruition. Mac Sledge starts singing again.

89 min

01:00 pm – MOLLY (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 3

In a post-apocalyptic wasteland, a young woman with supernatural abilities tries to protect a scavenging child while fighting off a group of dangerous marauders who want her to fight in their arena.

MOLLY is a declaration of love to action cinema influenced by such films as the MAD MAX series and John Carpenter’s ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK (1981). The heroine easily fits into the feminist universe of a George Miller and directors Colinda Bongers and Thijs Meuwese treat their main character with a respect that, even today, is not shown towards most female action heroines. Julia Batelaan appreciates this with a performance that is as nuanced as it deserves cult status.

91 min

03:00 pm – A ROSE IN WINTER (COMPETITION)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, CINEMA 3

The film tells the story of Edith Stein, who was canonized on October 11, 1998, under her monastic name Teresia Benedicta of the Cross of Pope John Paul II. First born a Jew, she converted to Christianity in 1922 and is considered a bridge builder between the two religious communities. Until her murder in the concentration camp Auschwitz-Birkenau, she earned herself a reputation as a great suffragette.

138 min

SUBJECT TO ALTERATIONS

Programm 2018

Programm 20182018-08-26T22:31:23+00:00

20:00 UHR – SLEEP NO MORE (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Es ist 1986 und eine Gruppe von Doktoranden ist kurz davor, mit einem experimentellen neuen Medikament ein Heilmittel gegen Schlaf zu finden. Doch bei einem Probanden läuft etwas furchtbar schief. Nachdem ihre Abteilung geschlossen wird, bewegt sich das Team im Geheimen – nur dieses Mal experimentieren sie an sich selbst und müssen feststellen, dass ihr verzicht auf Schlaf auch etwas ganz anderes weckt…

91 min, OV Englisch ohne Untertitel

ÄNDERUNGEN VORBEHALTEN

15:00 UHR – CARGO (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Ein bahamanischer Fischer (gespielt von Warren Brown) hofft seine Spielschulden begleichen zu können, indem er Flüchtlinge nach Florida schmuggelt.

112 min, OV Englisch & teilweise Haitianisch mit engl. Untertitel

17:30 UHR – PASSAGE TO MARS (DOKUMENTARFILM)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Moderiert von Zachary Quinto, dokumentiert ‚Passage to Mars‘ die Nordwest Passage Drive Expedition – eine NASA-Expedition in die Arktis, die von dem Planetenwissenschaftler Pascal Lee geleitet wird. Das Ziel ist, eine menschliche Expedition zum Mars zu simulieren und die neueste NASA-Ausrüstung in einem Gelände zu testen, das die kalte und raue Trostlosigkeit des roten Planeten widerspiegelt. Doch nach der Überquerung der berüchtigten Nordwestpassage stößt die Crew auf eine Reihe gefährlicher Rückschläge, die ihre Expedition schnell in eine Odyssee des Überlebens verwandeln.

94 min

19:30 UHR – CHARISMATA (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Sarah Beck Mather spielt eine Polizistin, die eine Reihe satanischer Morde aufzuklären versucht und dabei feststellen muss, dass Frau sein in einer Männerwelt absolut höllisch sein kann.

100 min, OV Englisch ohne Untertitel

22:00 UHR – DER BULLE UND DAS MÄDCHEN (PETER KEGLEVIC)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Ein 17 jähriges Mädchen bekommt Ärger mit ihrer Clique. Als ihr ein Polizist zu Hilfe kommen will, nimmt sie ihm Dienstwaffe und Autoschlüssel ab und will über die Grenze verschwinden. Er muss sie finden und versucht, die Sache auf eigene Faust zu regeln. Durch seine Methoden gerät er allerdings immer mehr in die Grauzone zwischen Recht und Gesetz. Schließlich werden beide zu Gejagten; wobei sie bemerken, dass sie sich ineinander verliebt haben. Es folgt eine Flucht ohne Plan und Ziel.

89 min

ÄNDERUNGEN VORBEHALTEN

13:00 Uhr – Werkstattgespräch mit Regisseur Ruggero Deodato

CinemaxX Wolfsburg

Regisseur Ruggero Deodato steht unserem Publikum Rede und Antwort und gibt sowohl faszinierende Einblicke in seine Karriere als auch seiner Werke

Zuschauerfragen sind natürlich ausdrücklich erwünscht!

14:00 Uhr – Werkstattgespräch mit Regisseur Bruce Beresford

CinemaxX Wolfsburg

Regisseur Bruce Beresford gibt spannende Einblicke in seine umfangreiche Karriere, seine Filme und Erlebnisse hinter der Kamera. Man darf sich auf viele interessante Details und Geschichten freuen.

Zuschauerfragen sind natürlich ausdrücklich erwünscht!

17:30 Uhr – Cineways Abend mit Bruce Beresford

CinemaxX Wolfsburg (Einlass: 17:00 Uhr)

Die traditionelle „Come Together Party“ ist eines der beliebtesten Events der Festivalwoche und dieses Jahr gänzlich unserem Gaststar, dem Regisseur Bruce Beresford gewidmet. Der renommierte Filmemacher erhält in diesem Jahr den Lifetime Achievement Award. Los geht es um 17.30 Uhr auf dem Roten Teppich und nach dem Hauptfilm wollen wir alle gemeinsam mit den Stars feiern. Bei leckeren Cocktails im CinemaxX Wolfsburg darf nach Herzenslust über alles geplaudert werden, was das Filmherz höher schlägen lässt.

20:00 UHR – DOPPELMORD (BRUCE BERESFORD)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 7

Libby wird für den Mord an ihrem Mann angeklagt und verurteilt. Ihren Sohn Matty gibt sie in die Obhut einer Freundin Angie. Während eines Telefonats mit ihr hört Libby ihren Sohn im Hintergrund nach seinem Vater rufen. Könnte Nick etwa noch am Leben sein? Nach mehreren Jahren Frauengefängnis kommt Libby auf Bewährung frei und macht sich gemeinsam mit Bewährungshelfer Travis (Tommy Lee Jones) auf die Suche nach ihrem Sohn und der Wahrheit.

105 min

ÄNDERUNGEN VORBEHALTEN

09:00 UHR – FALSELY ACCUSED (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Die junge Shelly wird des Mordes an ihrem Bruder beschuldigt. In ihrer kleinen Heimatstadt ist jeder von ihrer Schuld überzeugt und keiner ihrer Schritte bleibt unbeobachtet. Vertrauen kann sie nur zwei Personen: ihrer Mutter und dem geheimnisvollen Roy. Um ihre Unschuld zu beweisen, macht sie sich auf eine gefährliche Reise…

81 min

ab 10:00 Uhr – Cineways James Bond Symposium

IT Campus Westbahnhof, Braunschweig

Ein Erlebnistag für Bond-Fans: von 10:00 Uhr – 15:30 Uhr erwartet euch im IT Campus Westbahnhof in Braunschweig ein spannendes Programm rund um das Thema 007. Neben einem exklusiven Film über die Eröffnung der 007 Elements Kinoinstallation in Sölden wird es einen interessanten Vortrag von Bond-Experte Danny Morgenstern zum Thema „Frauen in James Bond Filmen“ geben. Den Höhepunkt bildet der Panel Talk mit unserem Gaststar Corinne Cléry, die uns ausführlich über ihre Karriere sowie die Dreharbeiten von ‚MOONRAKER‘ berichten wird. Natürlich steht sie auch gerne für Fotos und Autogramme zur Verfügung.

10:00 UHR – BLACK ROBE (BRUCE BERESFORD)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

Um die Indianerstämme in der Wildnis Neufrankreichs zu missionieren, schicken die französischen Jesuiten in der Mitte des 17. Jahrhunderts immer neue Glaubensbrüder ins Land der Huronen, Irokesen und Algonkin. Für den jungen Pater Laforgue ist die Reise eine Herausforderung. Doch die Strapazen, die ihn erwarten, das ihm unverständliche Verhalten der Indianer, die Einsamkeit der Natur und die Grausamkeit der Kämpfe sind eine fast unmenschliche Belastung. Auf dem Weg zu einer entlegenen Missionsstation gerät er mit einer Gruppe Indianer in einen Hinterhalt der feindlichen Irokesen.

102 min

11:00 UHR – ACQUA E ZUCCHERO (DOKUMENTARFILM)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Carlo di Palma war nicht nur einer der einflussreichsten Kameramänner Italiens, sondern prägte durch seine Arbeit an mehr als hundert Filmen vom Neorealismus über die klassische italienische Komödie bis hin zu seiner engen und langjährigen Zusammenarbeit mit Woody Allen unzählige Filmemacher auf der ganzen Welt. Die Filme und Namen, mit denen er assoziiert wird, ist beeindruckend: Antonioni (Die Rote Wüste, Blow Up), Bertolucci (Die Tragödie eines Lächerlichen Mannes), Monicelli (Die Gespielinnen, Mit Pistolen fängt man keine Männer), Scola, Germi (Scheidung auf Italienisch), Mit Woody Allen drehte er 10 Filme, darunter Meisterwerke wie „Radio Days“, „Schatten und Nebel“, „Ehemänner und Ehefrauen“ und „Harry außer sich“. „Acqua e Zucchero“ ist ein Kaleidoskop aus Archivmaterial und neuen Interviews mit zahlreichen Weggefährten und Bewunderern.

WORLD DISTRIBUTIONS: ADRIANA CHIESA ENTERPRISES srl
Via Siacci 38
00197 Rome – ITALY
Tel: +39-068086052 – Fax: +39-0680687855 – email: info@adrianachiesaenterprises.com

90 min

12:30 UHR – FALLING ROCKS (PETER KEGLEVIC)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

Sechs Freunde finden bei einem Wüstentrip eine Leiche. Der Tote hat eine Büchse mit Rohdiamanten bei sich, die die Gruppe kurzerhand an sich nimmt. Während sie ihre Reise fortsetzen, überlegt jeder für sich, was er mit dem Vermögen wohl anfangen könnte. Bald stirbt der erste von ihnen unter mysteriösen Umständen und Paranoia macht sich breit: Werden sie verfolgt oder ist unter ihnen ein Mörder, der nicht teilen will?

96 min

13:00 UHR – FUCKING BERLIN (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Sonia kommt als 20 Jährige nach Berlin, um Mathematik zu studieren, sie baut sich einen neuen Freundeskreis auf und verliebt sich Hals über Kopf in den lieben aber verantwortungslosen Polen Ladja. Aus Geldmangel, aber auch aus Neugier entschließt sich Sonia zum Weg in die Prostitution und führt von da an ein gefährliches Doppelleben, als Studentin und Teilzeithure.

94 min

15:00 UHR – SCHATTENWALD (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 5

Julika Stetten fährt nach einem Burnout aufs Land in ein altes Haus. Hier, in der vermeintlichen Ruhe und Abgeschiedenheit muss sie schnell wieder zu Kräften kommen, denn als Songschreiberin hat sie eine wichtige Frist, zu der sie liefern muss. Das Haus aber hat ein dunkles Geheimnis: In ihren Träumen bekommt Julika Besuch von Katharina, die hier vor vielen Jahren ihr Leben verloren hat.

88 min

ab 17:30 Uhr – Cineways James Bond Abend

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 3

Der große JAMES BOND ABEND startet in diesem Jahr bereits um 17:30 Uhr mit der Welturaufführung unserer hauseigenen Dokumentation ‚FOR OUR EYES ONLY: JOHN GLEN‘. Um 20:00 Uhr rettet Roger Moore in ‚MOONRAKER-STRENG GEHEIM‘ spektakulär die Welt. Unser Gaststar Corinne Cléry wird eine Einführung zu dem Film geben und erhält hierbei den Cineways James Bond Award. Im Anschluss möchten wir mit euch stilecht feiern und anstoßen – natürlich geschüttelt, nicht gerührt!

Abendgarderobe ist erwünscht, aber nicht zwingend

23:00 Uhr – Deodato Double-Feature mit Vortrag von Prof. Dr. Marcus Stiglegger

Delphin Palast Wolfsburg

Ruggero Deodato gilt als Meister des Kannibalenfilms und inspirierte mit seinen kontroversen Werken zahlreiche Regisseure wie Quentin Tarantino, Oliver Stone oder Eli Roth. Mit dem kürzlich vom Index gestrichenen Film ‚MONDO CANNIBALE 2‘ eröffnet sich uns die Möglichkeit, Regisseur Deodato ein Double-Feature im Wolfsburger Delphin-Palast zu widmen. Hierbei wird der renommierte Filmwissenschaftler Prof. Dr. Marcus Stiglegger mit seinem Vortrag „I wonder who the real cannibals are? – Ruggero Deodatos Kino der menschlichen Abgründe“, das Wirken und Schaffen des italienischen Regisseurs würdigen. Als zweiten Film zeigen wir ‚THE HOUSE ON THE EDGE OF THE PARK‘ (‚Der Schlitzer‘).

ÄNDERUNGEN VORBEHALTEN

09:00 UHR – TAG DER ABRECHNUNG (PETER KEGLEVIC)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

Der Busfahrer Erwin Mikolajczyk führt ein eigenbrötlerisches Leben. Der Waffensammler, der selbst Mitglied in einem Sportschützenverein ist, gilt als Außenseiter. Sein Fetisch ist das Sammeln von Gummistiefeln. Nachdem er regelmäßig seine Freundin Lena verprügelt hat, zeigt diese ihn an und Erwin wird wegen Körperverletzung zu einer Geldstrafe von insgesamt 7.200 DM verurteilt. Gegen diesen Strafbefehl legt er Einspruch ein. Nachdem dieser abgelehnt wird, erschießt er mehrere im Gerichtsgebäude anwesende Personen, unter anderem zwei Rechtsanwälte und den Richter und zündet anschließend eine Bombe, mit der er sich selbst in die Luft sprengt und das Gebäude verwüstet.

93 min

09:00 UHR – ONE SHOT LEFT (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 3

Jessica und ihre Kameraden Markus und Mike besichtigen eine still gelegte Fabrik. Doch der verlassene Ort ist nicht so verlassen wie ursprünglich gedacht. Natalia Orlow und ihr paramilitärischer Sicherheitstrupp verbergen ein großes Geheimnis und sorgen dafür, dass kein Eindringling die Anlage lebend verlässt. Doch wie sich heraus stellt, folgen sämtliche Ereignisse dem diabolischen Plan einer einzelnen Person. Und Jessica selbst ist der Schlüssel zu dessen Erfüllung.

90 min

11:00 UHR – PODIUMSDISKUSSION

CinemaxX Wolfsburg

Bei der Podiumsdiskussion haben unsere Stargäste das Wort. Freut euch auf spannende Einblicke in das internationale Filmgeschäft.

11:30 UHR – COMEBACK DER LIEBE (BRUCE BERESFORD)

IT CAMPUS WESTBAHNHOF, BRAUNSCHWEIG

In einem Motelzimmer in Waxahachie, Texas, findet eines Tages das Leben des zum Alkoholiker gewordenen ehemaligen Country-&-Western-Sängers Mac Sledge seinen beschämenden Tiefpunkt. Mit Hilfe einer Witwe und ihres Sohnes, mit denen er sich angefreundet hat, findet der merklich gealterte Mac Sledge langsam wieder zu sich. Sie inspirieren ihn dazu, die Arbeit wieder aufzunehmen. Er versöhnt sich mit der für immer verloren geglaubten Tochter und bringt sein Leben auf Vordermann. Mac Sledge fängt wieder zu singen an.

89 min

13:00 UHR – MOLLY (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 3

In einem post-apokalyptischen Ödland versucht eine junge Frau mit übernatürlichen Fähigkeiten ein plünderndes Kind zu beschützen, während sie eine Gruppe gefährlicher Plünderer abwehrt, die sie in ihrer Arena kämpfen lassen wollen…
MOLLY ist eine Liebeserklärung an ein Actionkino, das von Filmen wie der MAD MAX-Reihe und John Carpenters ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK (DIE KLAPPERSCHLANGE, 1981) geprägt wurde. Die Heldin passt ohne Probleme in das feministische Universum eines George Miller und die Regisseure Colinda Bongers und Thijs Meuwese behandeln ihre Hauptfigur mit einem Respekt, der auch heute noch den meisten weiblichen Actionheldinnen nicht entgegengebracht wird. Julia Batelaan dankt es ihnen mit einer Performance, die ebenso nuanciert ist wie sie Kultstatus verdient.

91 min, OV Englisch ohne Untertitel

15:00 UHR – A ROSE IN WINTER (WETTBEWERB)

CinemaxX Wolfsburg, KINO 3

Der Film erzählt die Geschichte von Edith Stein, die unter ihrem Ordensnamen Teresia Benedicta vom Kreuz von Papst Johannes Paul II. am 11. Oktober 1998 heilig gesprochen wurde. Zunächst als Jüdin geboren, konvertierte sie 1922 zum Christentum und gilt als Brückenbauerin zwischen den beiden Religionsgemeinschaften. Bis zu ihrer Ermordung im KZ Ausschwitz-Birkenau verdiente sie sich nicht zuletzt auch als große Frauenrechtlerin.

138 min

ÄNDERUNGEN VORBEHALTEN